Reflecting

It’s the last week of classes. It has been a great experience being in the RTBN program. I have to say, all the hard work has been paid off and I’m ready to be a 2nd year. I know it’s going to be a challenge, but I’ve come this far and I’m not giving up. I decided to reflect what’s happened to me since I’ve been here. This is sort of martial arts related. When it comes to reflecting, it’s a good idea to do that so you can get better the next time you face it. I know there’s a few things that need to be worked on.

Biggest achievement for me, is that I was determined to learn. The reason why I came to this program is to pursue a career in voice acting. If I keep this up and move forward, I’ll be able to reach my goal. It’s a good idea to set short and long term goals. It’s a great way to keep motivated.

2nd achievement I was able to plan ahead and balance things like choir and having time for myself. That was one of the biggest challenges. Sometimes I wasn’t able to practice new music because homework assignments were in the way. But I was able to plan ahead, pushing myself to get things done so I don’t have to worry about it. To be honest I’m nervous about 3rd semester, I’m really hoping to balance my schooling and choir. Singing has been a passion of mine and I want to keep doing it.

3rd achievement, accept mistakes. There were times that I totally forgot to do a small task, or had a miscommunication. I always take things personal when it comes to the work I do, but now I’m not as angry like I used to. I always remind myself to accept whats happened and move on. There are times when the feelings eat me alive if you know what I mean. If you feel like that, talk to someone you’re comfortable with. Sometimes talking it over with someone helps.

 

Things I need to work on. The reason why I’m posting this one, is because I want to come back and remind myself what I need to do to be a better person, and to get better at something. I’m not ashamed of sharing this, it’s a personal goal I want to reach. People have goals to reach. If I can reach those goals, you can too.

1st thing to improve is to relax. I’ve been told by my martial arts instructors many times, is to relax. I still struggle with this but hey, first time for everything right? The more you relax, the better you do. As you relax, your body starts to loosen up. The more you think about the task or the problem, your body will feel tense. Important thing is to relax. I will work on that eventually

2nd thing to improve is to keep practicing on-air. I haven’t been able to practice a lot of on-air due to deadlines for assignments. But now the semester is coming to a close, I’m taking the advantage this summer to come in and practice. Goal is to prep for a 3 hour show for next semester. I’m gonna work real hard to master this.

3rd thing to improve is my writing. My teacher Louise told the whole class, it’s good to write everyday, so you can get better. My goal this summer is to write a novel this summer I’ve been meaning to do for a long time. I had this story in my head back in junior high, but I think this will be a great idea to write my story to keep me motivated. I’m really exited.

 

The semester will be coming to a close this week. This isn’t goodbye, but I’m looking forward to my next chapter in my life. When I come back to writing blogs, I think I’ll be writing stuff of what’s in my mind other than writing just martial arts stuff. But you never know.

Leave a Reply

